Days back

Lotsa years back I had been to Jammu & Kashmir.

Oh,…let me start with the reason why I am writing this blog. Read a post by Kalyan about Kashmir. Reminded me of the sights and sounds that I recollected during those few minutes. It was very interesting because I have not done this as far as I can remember. In no particular order, I will try to recapture those moments.

“…Ghostlike ferns swaying to the rhythm of the Dal lake. This is what I saw when I peered over the edge of the boat which was taking us across the Dal lake. They were so close to the surface of the lake and yet were away from arm’s reach when I tried to touch them. The surface of the lake seemed like a thin veil separating me from yet another world which was melting into darkness as one tried to peer hard into the lake. I wondered how it would feel to swim amongst those ferns…”

“…Beautiful boat-houses which were too expensive for people who use LTC packages. That wouldn’t prevent us from going around one of them. From the cold embrace of the chilly Dal lake to the warmth of a structure entirely made of wood. It was an all new world for me. Wood paneled doors and beautiful cutlery made of wood. Every piece was a work of art to me. I can safely surmise that it was. I wonder if it is,…”

“…Long drives along the river Jhelum which was swollen and brown with alluvial soils being churned as they had been during every monsoon. Light drizzle palpable as untouchable pellets on the other side of the window pane. Air thick with moisture as all windows of the bus were closed. People hardly speaking and the road did not seem to offer much succour. The river was raging furiously as the valley was filling up with incessant rains. My mind was removed from the moment and the powerful swishes of the Jhelum acquired new meaning. The bus careened dangerously close to the edge. And the entire bus went mum. I wanted to get to the left side of the bus so that I could have a clearer view of the Jhelum…”

“…Nights were colder. I saw a quilt for the first time. The floor was colder than I expected it to be and I could hardly wash myself after a dump session…”

“…Snow-capped mountains and rented paraphernalia were interesting…”

“…Lovely gardens and crystal clear water.  I did not know terrorism and everybody was the same for me except my family.. .”

2 Responses

  1. You brought back my days of my visit to this lovely paradise. I just can’t agree more with your words…I just could visualise them…I am glad to be a part of your inspiration…Thanks very much for blogrolling my site too…You also have a lovely blog out here & will be visiting it regularly.

  2. Hope what is lost for the moment is not lost forever.

Leave a Reply

