So far gone

I have a very unique situation.

I have two acquaintances. I share a peculiar relationship with each of them. On one hand I have this guy whom I know from post-grad. He was my hostel mate. The venerable hostel 9. We met on the aisle of the hostel while playing TT and it has been one bumpy ride since then. Without going into great details, I have had few instances to recollect in terms of the the quality of the relationship. The lad was not very open with his feelings about people in general and hence I moved along with scarce consideration for what was going on between us. I would say that there was a communication breakdown in a lot of ways.

On the other hand, I have this other guy,…I can’t recollect how we met. But I do remember a particular conversation which led me to believe that he was quite unique in a lot of respects. What led me to respect him was the fact that he made no bones about anything. That is a very unique trait and I could relate to it very strongly. Though I have spent very little time with him, I can remember those moments in great detail. It was quality time. Not some haha hoohoo time spent laughing over some insipid joke.

Now the situation is that these guys have fixed their marriages on subsequent days at places atleast 18 hours apart in terms of logistics. It is impossible to attend bot the marriages and now I need to choose.

On one hand, I had somebody who I can hardly recollect and on the other hand, I have this guy who has my respect and my affection. The question is if I want to be liked or if I want to like. I choose the latter. I like you buddy and I will be there at your marriage.

Leave a Reply

