Bullet diaries 2

Chatting with the local member of a bullet club:

“…………U jus have to keep riding the bike,,, and u’l learn something new every other ride u do….. guess thts the way I learnt more abt my bike,….”

After three months with my 500 LB, I guess it is so true.

I usually take the outer ring road of Bangalore city. Owing to traffic and my reluctance to use the kicker, I used to use the electric starter quite regularly. One fine evening, I was trying to start the bike using the kicker.

I primed the sump using the decompressor and then cranked the engine.

“Kraaaaaaaaaaackkkkkkk”

There was a sharp noise from the gear box. I was wearing the helmet and it was yet loud enough. I knew something bad had happened. I used the electric starter for the time being.

The nightmare continued the next morning when I wanted to crank the engine using the kicker. I drove straight to the showroom and left it for repair. Apart from the drivel on quality and other things, I had to use the kicker for the time being.

The experience was brilliant. In the process, I actually learnt how to crank the engine to get it started in one go. It is not that hard at all and believe me, it is the most satisfying feeling of the bike ride. The crank and the brilliant beat of the bullet as the piston lugs within.
What happens is that you get a feel of the position of the piston within the piston chamber and you know when it is just right to give you a smooth start at one shot. Then u crank the engine and it goes

” dub dub dub….”

Sweet music to my ears.

Leave a Reply

